Joe Zieja

Epic Failure
Joe Zieja

Joe Zieja is the author of the EPIC FAILURE series, the first book of which – Mechanical Failure – debuted in 2016 to critical acclaim; many compared it to the works of both Pratchett and Adams. A humorous science fiction series set in a future military setting that is as absurd and bureaucratic as today’s large government organizations, it tells the story of ex-sergeant R. Wilson Rogers’ struggles against actually having to do any real work. Particularly the saving-the-galaxy kind.

Joe is also known as a prominent voice actor, appearing in the iconic role of Fox McCloud in STAR FOX ZERO: THE BATTLE BEGINS, and other popular titles such as Persona 5, Oxenfree, Shadowverse, Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure, and Mobile Suit GUNDAM: Iron Blooded Orphans.

Book One: Mechanical Failure

A smooth-talking ex-sergeant, accustomed to an easygoing peacetime military, unexpectedly re-joins the fleet and finds soldiers preparing for the strangest thing—war.

The two hundred years’ (and counting) peace is a time of tranquility that hasn’t been seen since…well, never. Mankind in the Galactic Age had finally conquered war, so what was left for the military to do but drink and barbecue? That’s the kind of military that Sergeant R. Wilson Rogers lived in before he left the fleet to become a smuggler.

But it turns out that smuggling is hard. Like getting-arrested-for-dealing-with-pirates-and-forced-back-into-service kind of hard. It doesn’t seem so bad—the military was a perpetual tiki party anyway—but when Rogers returns after only a year away, something has changed. These are soldiers—actualsoldiers doing actual soldier things like preparing for a war that Rogers is sure doesn’t exist. Rogers vows to put a stop to all this nonsense—even if it means doing actual work.

  • Book Series: Epic Failure
  • Book One: Mechanical Failure
  • Genre: Science fiction, comedy